The Gifts of Nia in Healing from Breast Cancer

Amazing bouquet of flowers sent by Debbie Rosas and Stewart at Nia!!!
Amazing bouquet of flowers sent by Debbie Rosas and Stewart from Nia Headquarters!!!

Just a couple days after my Breast Cancer diagnosis, I saw a post on Facebook about a wonderful study that a Nia colleague, Deb Reis, RN, NP, and Nia Black Belt, had published about the benefits of using Nia to heal from Breast Cancer.  The universe is providing for us all the time in the coolest ways.  I think in some ways we are more open to hearing and feeling these messages or noticing them when we are our most vulnerable selves.  In other words, when we are struggling, we are open…searching even…we are paying attention in ways that our busy, focused self doesn’t always allow.  Certainly this is true for me! As I mentioned in my last post, in 2007 I was Director of Nia Specializations and I remember many conversations with Deb Reis about getting funding for this study and how we at Nia HQ could support her in this endeavor.  And then I left Nia to give birth to my daughter Avery and subsequently shifted my focus to family, and then starting my own practice, etc., and pretty much forgot all about this study…until a couple days after my Breast Cancer diagnosis when I see this post!!!  Seriously? Bizarre to say the least.  But so cool and reassuring too.

So – here it is the post from Deb Reis about how the practice that I have taught for the past 15 years will now once again support me in my healing, growth, and recovery.

 

Leave a Reply

