Learning from My Morning Run

This morning I awoke after a peaceful sleep in White Salmon.  Whenever I am here, I have this feeling like I drop in – drop into myself, my family, the beautiful area around me….everything feels slower and more calm.  Right now as I write this, there is a sweet fire warming me as I listen to cries of the fierce winds outside.  So cozy.

My day started with a 5 mile run with AJ.  Running the hills in White Salmon is quite different than my usual neighborhood runs in Portland.  As I began the big climb to the top of the ridge, I felt overwhelmed when I looked ahead to how far I needed to go, but then I turned to my right and noticed the small flowers and thought:

“don’t look ahead.  Just take it step by step.”

What a metaphor for how I’ll need to handle this process.  When I start to think about surgery, recovery, fear of a new cancer, I feel immediately overwhelmed and like I want to stop.  But when I just notice where I am right now (by this cozy fire), I feel ok like “I can do this.  It will all be ok.”

Here is me at the top of the ridge feeling super strong!

FullSizeRender (2)

Here is the gorgeous flowers I saw…. my favorite orange poppies!

FullSizeRender (2) copy 2

And here is my sweet honey at the finish line! 🙂

FullSizeRender (2) copy

 

Leave a Reply

