Tata Celebration

A Tata celebration certainly would not have been complete without nipple cupcakes made by Julie!
A Tata celebration certainly would not have been complete without nipple cupcakes made by Julie!

That’s right!  Got to celebrate them before they go away.  Honoring this transition with my ladies was simply the best.  I love ritual.  Always have.  There is something about acknowledging the fullness of a transition – all that it brings – the gains and losses, the laughter and the tears, and this one did all that plus almost burn down a tree!  For real.

Words cannot express how blessed I feel to have the community of friends around me supporting me and loving me in such a tangible way.  My friend Julie read blogs about “how to support a friend having a mastectomy” to find out what I will need in my recovery and all the ladies got me this giant care package.  I mean who does that?  In fact, I’ve maybe been using just a little avoidance and so having my girls give it to me straight – “yes, you won’t be showering so baby wipes and dry shampoo will be helpful.” – was indeed, very helpful!

As my friend Mersi said, “you can take all these women to your foxhole”.  And that’s a big foxhole!  Or as my sissy Mich said, “it’s like being at your own funeral”, and as strange as that sounds, I know exactly what she means as I get to hear all the ways that I am loved.  This is a gift that I will cherish forever.

Ladies know how to do this shit!  Back in the day we used to have “Blessing Ways” as a ritual to help prepare us for childbirth and the transition of becoming a mom.  And one thing we always do right is FOOD!  AJ used to say “those Blessing Ways ain’t no Portland hummus and gluten free crackers kind of potluck”.  That’s right – we nurture in every way – food included.  And I feel so nurtured.  This felt like my “booby way” because I am prepared in ways that I was most definitely not before.  Most importantly, in that I have the love, strength and support of all my girls – near and far.  Plus, now I have hard candies, lip balm and even a wedge pillow – so yes, I am ready as I will ever be!  Thank you ladies present with me and there in spirit.  Although crawling into bed at 2 am made for quite a rough next day, I would do it all again!

IMG_8457IMG_8472IMG_8507

And then that "casting" almost burnt the tree down!
And then that “casting” almost burnt the tree down!

IMG_8526

4 thoughts on “Tata Celebration

Leave a Reply

