Shaking it out

Arriving at Studio Nia yesterday to teach my last class (for a while) and seeing so many beautiful faces greeting me, supporting me, wearing “We Love Erika” t-shirts to boot!  I mean it was quite humbling – there were probably 50 people there and shaking and shimmying and shouting felt so damn good.

IMG_0246 IMG_0260

 

 

 

 

 

 

AJ really worked hard so I could upload video from my class but the technology is not in my favor today so to view our “sounding release” moment that really was so fun, you can go to my FB page here:

Shimme Sounding Shaking it out!

Here is the poem given to me by my dear friend Vicki that I read as the class focus:

“There is no controlling life. Try corralling a lightning bolt, containing a tornado. Darn a stream and it will create a new channel. Resist, and the tide will sweep you off your feet. Allow, and grace will carry you to higher ground. The only safety lies in letting it all in – the wild and the weak; fear, fantasies failures and success. When loss rips off the doors of the heart, or sadness veils your vision with despair, practice becomes simply bearing the truth. In the choice to let go of your known way of being, the whole world is revealed to your new eyes.” – Danna Faulds

One of my students drew these amazing drawings and then my kids colored them in while they watched the class.  Then all my students signed them.  They are so bright and will for sure be up in my hospital room with me so I can harness all the energy from that studio and bring it with me in my healing.

IMG_0264 IMG_0271

 

 

 

 

IMG_4881 IMG_4882 IMG_4883

Leave a Reply

