Update on Eri

It’s been a marathon day, but I’m ecstatic to say that Erika has emerged from surgery, groggy and in pain, but in good spirits.  The surgery was a success, and most importantly, her lymph nodes look good.  We won’t know for certain for some time (could be up to 3 weeks) but the surgeon was pretty confident that the nodes were clean.

I am so proud of my beautiful wife and so happy that she is now starting down the other side of this endeavor.  I know that there will be ups and downs in her recovery, but knowing that the waiting is over will be a huge burden off her mind.  And, for that, I couldn’t be happier for her.

The staff at the hospital has been so caring and attentive, capped off by the wonderful Dr. Nathalie Johnson who, seeing that Erika was feeling scared just before going under, broke into song and totally calmed her.  It was “My Favorite Things” which was so serendipitous because we just watched The Sound of Music.  Rock on Julie Andrews!

As for me, I am so happy to be with her right now.  She’s pretty sleepy, and looking a little green-ish, but she’s my angel and knowing that she is safe and on the road to recovery is all I could possibly ask for.  I’ll send another update tomorrow.

-aj

9 thoughts on “Update on Eri

  1. Great news! Thank you for the update AJ – lots of love from our house to yours as Eri heads into the healing phase. Patty

  2. AJ-Thank you for taking time away from Erika to update all of us. She is as blessed to have you as you are to have her. (This isn’t a lot of hooey, she really says that frequently.) I am praying for all of you…Erika AND all of her inner circle-on-deck support system, headed by you. So glad she got through it and as you said, is on the other side.

  3. This is well written and tear gathering AJ. Thx for sharing ur time w cute girl to share w us. Rest up. Both of yas!! Surgery is tough stuff for sure. Just remember u both got this…especially when u don’t think u can take more. U can, do and still look awesome doing it. Its funny, ever since a young age, I always wanted to b in Erika Ruber’s fan club. In fact, in the beginning, I aspired to be the president of such an organization.

Leave a Reply

