Riding it out

Day 11 with no caffeine.  I know stand back! 🙂  Why would one do such a thing some of you may be asking?  Well, who doesn’t like to start the New Year with a cleanse?  While it may be cliche, my body was ready for it…craving it.  In fact, I’ve known I needed to cleanse for a while now but I wasn’t quite there.  And as usual, when I was patient with myself rather than “why don’t you just stop already with those Christmas cookies already.” I have arrived and it is now time to cleanse.

My goal is 4 weeks with no caffeine, sugar, wheat, gluten, or dairy. Basically, good clean eating.  The hardest time for me is my morning cup of coffee.  What I realize though is that it is really only hard for about 10 minutes.  Really.  If I can just get past that window and move on with my day, I don’t even think of it again.  Well, most days anyways!

These cravings are temporary.  As is everything really.  We are in a constant state of change.  If we wait it out, ride it out, it will pass.  It will change.  This is true for emotions, thoughts, sensations, behaviors and relationships.  Life is dynamic.  It is not static.  When we stay in our automatic habits, it can sure feel static.  

I know for me, I was feeling like a Dunkin’ Doughnuts commercial “time to make the coffee” and it sure is refreshing to do it differently, to try on something new and see how my body and mind responds.  It can be hard to remember this in the moment of despair or distress but nothing last forever, and sometimes just knowing that it will pass if we can just ride it out is all we need.

3 thoughts on “Riding it out

  1. Hi, shocking!! is the fam on the same diet? After reading about leaky gut etc. from today’s grains, I keep thinking about giving up bread, but it hasn’t happened! You are always an inspiration, Erika! Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  2. Erika,
    I am on day 25 of Whole 30…all the same eliminations for inflammation. A 30 day reset. (Although I am going to keep going….all my cravings are fine…and it’s about your relationship with food! Am allowed to drink coffee black. Check it out online…it’s a whole community!. It has been phenomenal for me. The library has the whole 30 cookbook and I have been cooking incredibly delicious and nitrous foods.

  3. WHOLE30 101: OUR FAMOUS TOUGH LOVE (HEAVY ON THE LOVE)
    26 October, 2015
    The most often-quoted line in the entire Whole30 program is this one: “It is not hard. Don’t you dare tell us this is hard. Quitting heroin is hard. Beating cancer is hard. Drinking your coffee black. Is. Not. Hard.” Since we created the Whole30 in April 2009, thousands of people […]

    – See more at: http://whole30.com/category/whole30-101/#sthash.ItehMupX.dpuf

Leave a Reply

